2 Euro overview


Commemorative coin


50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome

(Part of the joint issue " 50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome ")

Official Journal of the European Union

To celebrate the 50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome, Eurogroup Ministers decided that euro-area Member States would strike a 2-euro commemorative coin using a common design on the national side. The selected design is the outcome of a joint preparation by the European Mints. Issuing States: Belgium, Germany, Greece, Spain, France, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia and Finland. The centre of the coin shows the Treaty signed by the six founding Member States on a background evoking the paving, designed by Michelangelo, of the Piazza del Campidoglio in Rome where the Treaty was signed on 25 March 1957. The translation of the word ‘Europe ’appears above the book. The translation of the words ‘Treaty of Rome 50 years ’is inscribed above the design. The year 2007 and the national name of the issuing country are inscribed under the design. The twelve stars of the European flag are depicted on the outer ring. PACTVM ROMANVM/QVINQVAGENARIVM/EUROPAE/BELGIQUE–BELGIE–BELGIEN The mint master mark and the mintmark appear respectively on the left and the right hand sides of the year mark.

© European Union, 1998-2019, Official Journal of the European Union, 2007/C 65/04

Edge lettering

« 2 ★ ★ » repeated six times, alternately upright and inverted


Münze Österreich, Real Casa de la Moneda, Istituto Poligrafico e Zecca dello Stato S.p.A

Volume of issue

Köninklijke Munt van Belgie ( Brüssel ) Romain Coenen
Circulation coins 25.03.2007Rolls of 25 coins5.000.0002,00
Divisional coin set BU26.03.2007BeNeLux Set «50 years Treaty of Rome» contains instead of the 2 € circulation coin, 2€ CC «50th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome»15.00060,00
Folder BU26.06.200720.0009,00
Box Proof26.06.20075.00018,50