2 Euro overview


Commemorative coin


Republic of Malta 1974

(Part of the National series " Constitutional History ")

Official Journal of the European Union

The coin is the last in a series of five commemorating Maltese constitutional milestones. Malta was declared a republic on 13 December 1974 following constitutional changes which were agreed upon by a great majority in Malta’s Parliament. The design reproduces a marble tablet affixed to the façade of the Presidential Palace in Valletta to mark Malta’s change from a monarchy to a republic. At the top right, in semi-circle, the inscription ‘MALTA — Republic 1974’. At the bottom, the year ‘2015’. The coin’s outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag.

© European Union, 1998-2019, Official Journal of the European Union, 2015/C 150/03

Edge lettering

« 2 ✠✠ » repeated six times, alternately upright and inverted.


Ganni Bonnici

Volume of issue

De Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt ( Utrecht )
Divisional coin set BU23.06.2015Annual coin set in wooden box, also contains 2€ CC «Republic of Malta 1974» and a replica of a norman coin30.00030,00
De Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt ( Utrecht ) Maarten Brouwer
Circulation coins 05.10.2015Rolls of 25 coins400.0002,00
Coincard Proof05.10.2015Official coincard5.00015,00