2 Euro overview


Commemorative coin


10 years of the Euro

(Part of the joint issue " 10 years of the Euro ")

Official Journal of the European Union

To celebrate 10 years of the Euro, euro-area Finance Ministers decided that euro-area Member States would strike a 2-euro commemorative coin using a common design on the national side. Euro-area citizens and residents have selected by public web-voting the winning design. Voters had a choice of five designs, which had been pre-selected by a professional jury following a design competition among citizens from the whole euro area, and they choose the design created by Mr Helmut Andexlinger, professional designer at the Austrian Mint. Issuing countries: Belgium, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Finland The Euro-sign in the centre of the coin shows that the Euro has become an element of particular importance in Europe as well all over the world as the Euro evolved to a global player in the international monetary system in the last 10 years. The design elements around the Euro-symbol on the coin express the importance of the Euro to the people, to the financial world (ECB tower), to trading (ships), to industry (factories), to the energy sector and research and development (wind power stations). The initials AH of the artist appear under the image of the ECB tower. The name(s) of the issuing country in the national language(s) appear(s) at the top, while the indication 2002-2012 appears at the bottom. The outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag. Legends: SUOMI FINLAND/2002-2012 Mintmark: The mintmark appears at the upper left hand side of the design

© European Union, 1998-2019, Official Journal of the European Union, 2012/C 17/05)

Edge lettering

« SUOMI FINLAND * * * », where the * stands for a lion head.


Helmut Andexlinger

Volume of issue

Suomen Rahapaja ( Vantaa )
Circulation coins 12.01.2012Rolls of 25 coins1.464.5002,00
Divisional coin set BU05.10.2012Annual coin set II, contains instead of the 2 € circulation coin, 2€ CC «150th anniversary of the birth of the artist Helene Schjerfbeck» and 2€ CC «10 years of the Euro»10.00029,00
Folder BU23.11.2015€ 2 commemorative coin set in 2004, 2005, 2006, 2x 2007, 2008, 2x 2009, 2010, 2011, 2x 2012, 2x 2013, 2x 2014 (16 coins)1.500140,00
Divisional coin set Proof05.10.2012also contains «150th anniversary of the birth of the artist Helene Schjerfbeck» and 2€ CC «10 years of the Euro»2.00089,00
Box Proof12.01.2012In box23.00019,90