2 Euro overview


Commemorative coin


10 years of economic and monetary union (EMU)

(Part of the joint issue " 10 years of economic and monetary union (EMU) ")

Official Journal of the European Union

To celebrate ten years of economic and monetary union and the creation of the euro on 1 January 1999, Eurogroup Ministers decided that euro-area Member States would strike a 2-euro commemorative coin using a common design on the national side. Citizens and residents of the European Union were invited to vote on-line to select this common national design. They choose the design created by Mr G. Stamatopoulos, sculptor at the Minting Department of the Greek Central Bank. Issuing countries: Belgium, Germany, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Finland. The centre of the coin shows a stylised human figure whose left arm is prolonged by the euro symbol. The initials ΓΣ of the artist appear below the euro symbol. The name(s) of the issuing country in the national language(s) appear(s) at the top, while the indication 1999-2009 and the acronym EMU translated into the national language(s) appear at the bottom. The outer ring depicts the twelve stars of the European flag. ΕΛΛΗΝΙΚΗ ΔΗΜΟΚΡΑΤΙΑ/ΟΝΕ 1999-2009 Mintmark: The mintmark appears at the right hand side of the design

© European Union, 1998-2019, Official Journal of the European Union, 2008/C 315/04

Edge lettering



George Stamatopoulos

Volume of issue

National Mint ( Halandri (Athen) )
Circulation coins 01.01.2009Rolls of 25 coins3.992.5002,00
Divisional coin set BU07.12.2009Annual coin set, «10 years of economic and monetary union» contains instead of the 2 € circulation coin, 2€ CC «10 years of economic and monetary union (EMU)»7.50020,00