2 Euro overview


Commemorative coin


10 years of the Euro

(Part of the joint issue " 10 years of the Euro ")

Official Journal of the European Union

To celebrate 10 years of the Euro, euro-area Finance Ministers decided that euro-area Member States would strike a 2-euro commemorative coin using a common design on the national side. Euro-area citizens and residents have selected by public web-voting the winning design. Voters had a choice of five designs, which had been pre-selected by a professional jury following a design competition among citizens from the whole euro area, and they choose the design created by Mr Helmut Andexlinger, professional designer at the Austrian Mint. Issuing countries: Belgium, Germany, Estonia, Ireland, Greece, Spain, France, Italy, Cyprus, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Austria, Portugal, Slovenia, Slovakia and Finland The Euro-sign in the centre of the coin shows that the Euro has become an element of particular importance in Europe as well all over the world as the Euro evolved to a global player in the international monetary system in the last 10 years. The design elements around the Euro-symbol on the coin express the importance of the Euro to the people, to the financial world (ECB tower), to trading (ships), to industry (factories), to the energy sector and research and development (wind power stations). The initials AH of the artist appear under the image of the ECB tower. The name(s) of the issuing country in the national language(s) appear(s) at the top, while the indication 2002-2012 appears at the bottom. The outer ring depicts the 12 stars of the European flag. Legends: LËTZEBUERG/2002-2012 Mintmark: The mintmark the Mint Master mark appear on the upper right hand side of the design In accordance with the national law, the coin shows an effigy of the Grand Duke as a latent image.

© European Union, 1998-2019, Official Journal of the European Union, 2012/C 17/05)

Edge lettering

« 2 ★ ★ » repeated six times, alternately upright and inverted


Helmut Andexlinger

Volume of issue

De Koninklijke Nederlandse Munt ( Utrecht ) Maarten Brouwer
Circulation coins 03.02.2012Rolls of 25 coins500.0002,00
Divisional coin set BU19.04.2012BeNeLux Set «10 years of the Euro in the BENELUX » contains instead of the 2 € circulation coin, 2€ CC «10 years of the Euro»10.00060,00
Divisional coin set BU19.04.2012«Diekirch» also contains 2€ CC «The Grand-Duke Henri and the Grand-Duke Guillaume IV» and 2€ CC «10 years of the Euro»7.50030,00
Coincard BU09.02.2012Official coincard10.00010,00
Divisional coin set Proof20.09.2012In wooden box, also contains 2€ CC «The Grand-Duke Henri and the Grand-Duke Guillaume IV» and 2€ CC «10 years of the Euro»2.00095,00
Box Proof20.09.2012PP Set 2009 - 2012 in wooden box3.00085,00